If you are going to work for another Part-145, does your AML remain valid?

Yes, your AML (Aircraft Maintenance Licence) remains valid for 5 years. Normally the AML is referred to as being a Part-66 licence. From the Part-145 company you will get a Company Authorisation, which allows you to work (and release aircraft) for that specific company.


If you are going to work for another Part-145, do your priviledges remain the same?

No, your release priviledges are company specific. Normally after an Assessment by the Quality Department of the new Part-145 they will grant you similar priviledges. There priviledges are printed on te Company Authorisation which you normally wil receive.

Can a Part-66 Aircraft Maintenance Licence (or AML) expire?

Your AML (EASA Part-66) is valid for 5 years. You must renew your AML before it expires.

The ACC is EASA Part-147 approved, what does that mean?

The Aviation Competence Centre is an approved Part-147 Maintenance Training Organisation. So the ACC complies with the stringent EASA (European Aviation Safety Agency) requirements. An approved Part-147 organisation is allowed to perform Part-66 module examinations at other locations. 

How often am I allowed to (re)take and Part66 module examination?

In the EASA Part-66 regulation is stated that only after 90 days you can retake a specific Part-66 Module Examination. Only after a dedicated re-training by the ACC you are entitled to retake an examintion after 30 days. The maximum number of retakes is 3 consecutives attempts, after the third attempt you must wait for at least 1 year. This is regardless if these examinations were taken at other approved Part-147 Maintenance Training Organisations.

Where can I find more information relating to EASA Part-66 ?

For more information you can go to the EASA website or to the website of the Civil Aviation Authority in your country. 

What is Release Priviledge?

When you have succesfully passed all the EASA Part-66 module examinations you must first gain a couple of years of Experience. Then you can apply (at the NAA of an EU member state) for an EASA Part-66 Aircraft Maintenance Licence. Then you need to follow a specific Aircraft Type (or Task) training, for example "Boeing 737-600/700/800/900 (CFM56)". To add the first aircraft type to a Part-66 (Cat B1 or B2 rating) you must succesfully complete the: Theoretical element + Practical element + On-The-Job Training. 

Then you can become the company authorisation is which the Part-145 (Or Part-M supart F) grants you the "Release Priviledge". With this priviledge you are allowed to release aircraft for service.

Do you have to acquire experience inside an EASA Part-145 approved company?

Basically Yes, there are exemptions, for example the smaller "Part-M subpart F Maintenance Organisations" or inside the airforce. But in general the officials of the NAA (National Aviation Authorities) of an EU member state demand that the experience is acquired in a (aircraft) Part-145 approved maintenance organisation. 

What is EASA?

EASA (European Aviation Safety Agency) is the European Union Authority in aviation safety. The Dutch NAA is authorized by EASA to issue for example the Part-147 approval to a Maintenance Training Organisation.


What is an AML?

AML means Aircraft Maintenance Licence and is normally called a Part-66. This official document is issued by the aviation authorities of an EU member state. On this document is stated for which category the holder of the AML is approved. After the succesfull completion of an aircraf type training course (Theory + Practical + OJT) the aircraft types are added (only applicable to Part-66 categories B1, B2 and C) on the Part-66 AML.


What is an approved Part-66 Basic Training course?

There is a significant difference between passing all Part-66 Module Examinations or passing a Part-66 Basic Training. The difference is the expierence requirement (number of years) before you can apply for a Part-66 AML. In general it can be stated that the experience duration requirement is significant shorter after following a Part-66 Basic Training course. The experience requirements depend on the Category you apply for.

What am I allowed to bring to an EASA Part-66 Module Examination?

A good preparation is the most important. You need to be present at the examination location, at least 15 minutes prior to the start of the examination. You must be able to officially identify yourselves before the examination starts. If the Examinor can not establish your identity, you are not allowed to participate inside the examination. Also should bring a ballpoint (colors black or blue).

Can I register myself for just one (1) Part-66 Module Examination?

Yes, you can join each Part-66 Module examination as is published in the ExMan Application. You only have to register as a Examination student (no cost), but you will have to pay for each Part-66 Module Examination. The cost per Examination is published on the website.